Welcome back to the Horse Search Blog!

It’s been a busy few weeks here at Horse Search HQ as we welcomed our new supported riders to the team. We have selected 3 new riders to work alongside our current sponsored rider team.

Sponsored Riders:
Georgie Millar (GEM Sport Horses)
Tori Desborough (TT Sport Horses)
Francesca Hicks (Bassett Equestrian)

New Supported Riders:
Carly OBrien (COBS Equine Services)
Jess Smith (Jess Showjumper)
Hilary Collyer (Gorgeous George the Grey)

We had a tough decision due to a lot of amazing applicants but we’re keen to keep expanding the team throughout the summer months so watch this space!

So, let’s meet the new team members!


Hi everyone! I’m Hilary, the human face behind @gorgeousgeorgethegrey! I’m a 30 year old pharmacist living in Somerset, and own my cheeky 16hh dappled grey Irish sports horse George. 

After having a break from horse riding, I purchased george in August 2020 (he’s actually the first horse I’ve ever owned!). Unfortunately, during the next 6 months george was diagnosed with stomach ulcers and also kissing spines. He underwent surgery in March 2021 and after a bit of a rocky rehab we had him back fully fit and in full work in the autumn. Since then, we’ve been working hard on building up his flatwork and have attended some unaffiliated dressage competitions. 

My aims for this year are to attend more riding club clinics regularly, continue improving our dressage, and to start competing in showjumping (george absolutely loves to jump!). 

George is very much the clown of the yard, and is often entertaining everyone with his antics! We are really looking forward to being part of the supported riders scheme for Horse Search and can’t wait to show everyone all the amazing services they offer! 

Hilary and George x


I’m Jess an 18y/o showjumper from Essex. I am currently competing my 16.1hh Dutch warmblood Buddy! Buddy and I are currently schooling at around 1m10 with aims of competing 1m10-20! Once I have finished A levels (June 2022) I am taking a gap year where I hope to start producing ponies alongside competing Buddy! 


Hi, I’m Carly.  I am a freelance groom, riding coach, VA and podcaster to “It’s a grooms life”.

I am a big lover of the countryside, long walks with my sidekick Zac, drinking tea with dunking biscuits, chocolate, keeping fit and ofcourse horse riding.  

I ride whenever I can as at the moment I don’t have my own but I love it when I do.  I lost my confidence about 3 years ago after a riding accident but now I am so excited when I get the opportunity to ride. 

I’m sure Horse Search family will help me find my very own horse one day 🙂 

Make sure you’re following our amazing team and stay up to date with what they’re getting up to over the summer!

Speak soon,
Sally. X